Nine honoured for contributions to the Church

By Josh Low

Nine Tasmanians were acknowledged this month with the reception the Guilford Young Medal for their substantial contributions to the life and mission of the Church.

This year’s Medal recipients included both religious and laity from parish communities across the state.

At the award ceremony at St Mary’s Cathedral on Friday 3 November, Archbishop Julian expressed his gratitude to those present.

“My dear brothers and sisters, each of you have offered your particular gifts in a generous and sustained way over many years for the good of the mission of the Church here in Tasmania,” he said.

“I am pleased to have this opportunity to publicly acknowledge you and thank you for what you have contributed.

“You have been content to offer your time and talents for the common good. You have been willing to give freely of yourself and assist where you have seen a need.”

Profiles of this year’s Medal recipients will be featured in the December edition of the Catholic Standard.

The 2023 Guilford Young Medal recipients are:

Alice Frances Allen

Josephine Chipman

Peter Cusick

Jean Askey Doran

Sr Lorraine Groves

Christopher Jones

Reg Maloney

Patricia McKay

Tim McManus

Tags: Front Page News