Catholic Professional Standards – National Catholic Safeguarding Standards

Safe Communities is working to ensure the Archdiocese of Hobart complies with the National Catholic Safeguarding Standards released in May 2019. 

Taken directly from Volume 6 of the final report of the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse, the National Catholic Safeguarding Standards have been designed for implementation by Catholic entities. The 10 Standards promote the safety of children by influencing the development of policies and procedures that prevent, respond to, and report concerns regarding child abuse. The Standards include:

  1. Committed leadership, governance and culture
  2. Children are safe, informed and participate
  3. Partnering with families, carers and communities
  4. Equity is promoted and diversity respected
  5. Robust human resource management
  6. Effective complaints management
  7. Ongoing education and training
  8. Safe physical and online environments
  9. Continuous improvements
  10. Policies and procedures support child safety

Whilst it is acknowledged that there are child safeguarding practices already in place within the Archdiocese, including parishes, Safe Communities seeks to ensure existing practices are well-documented, and align with the requirements of the new Standards.

Tags: Safe Communities