Congregation of the Religious Sisters of Charity of Australia (RSC)

The Religious Sisters of Charity of Australia are consecrated women dedicated to give service of the poor.

The order was founded in Ireland in 1787 by the Venerable Mary Aikenhead. The first religious sisters to come to Australia, the Sisters of Charity arrived in New South Wales in 1838.

The Sisters of Charity established themselves in Tasmania in 1847. Since then, the Sisters of Charity have served in schools, orphanages and hospitals.

The order remains dedicated to social justice and living their vow of service to the poor. This is realized through respect and acceptance and advocacy to challenge structural oppression.

The Sisters of Charity are represented in Tasmania by Sr Anne Turner RSC.

Related News