Membership changes for Tasmanian Catholic Justice and Peace Commission

Decrease font size
Increase font size
Print this page
Email to friend
Share to Facebook
Share to Twitter
Membership changes for Tasmanian Catholic Justice and Peace Commission
Retiring members of the Tasmanian Catholic Justice and Peace Commission, Gloria Lonergan and former chair Richard Chapman.

Br Sean McManus will take over as Tasmanian Catholic Justice and Peace Commission (TCJPC) Chair next year, with the end of Richard Chapman’s six years of service to the commission.
TCJPC member Gloria Lonergan will also have a break after six years of service, while the commission’s longest serving resource officer Margaret Donaghy has also finished her role.
Mr Chapman emphasised the importance of the six year time limit on positions, to allow new members to join and new ideas to flow.

“It is important for groups like the TCJPC to be renewed every so often in order to keep flourishing and growing,” he said.

Br Sean, who has a strong interest in the welfare of refugees and asylum seekers, has served on the TCJPC for several years and paid tribute to Mr Chapman for his enthusiastic and efficient work as his predecessor.
The TCJPC forms part of the social justice arm of the Archdiocese of Hobart, aiming to first learn about issues of social justice, and then to share that learning with the broader Catholic community.

Members of the TCJPC meet five times a year, and promote justice issues in their own areas of the State.
The TCJPC’s areas of concern are many and varied ranging from refugees and asylum seekers, to trafficking in humans, prison reform and caring for the environment.
Anyone interested in becoming a member can email or call 0417 136  640.